« AnteriorContinuar »
Ordinances of City of Urbana, Illinois
Containing all the general Ordinances of the city, in force October 2, 1916,
Adopted by the City Council of the City of Urbana, Illinois, October 2,
Revised and codified by
W. G. Spurgin, Corporation Counsel.
Published by authority of the City Council of the City of Urbana, Illinois,
F. D. Bowditch, John A. Fairlie, and James E. Smith.
EARLY HISTORICAL SKETCHES OF THE CITY OF
SUPPLIED BY JUDGE J. O. CUNNINGHAM.
In the beginning there was nothing to be seen or encountered other than the vast expanse of prairie, unbroken and untrodden except by the wild Indian. Across this prairie in different direction and from groves of timber to other groves lay single trails, the only roads or other evidences of occupation in existence. Wild Indians, no less wild than the scenery above described, were the only occupants, and they changing locations with the results of wars, were for untold ages, before History took cognisance of the location, its only occupants.
These people made no improvements in any country they occupied other than the trails, and for these were indebted to the wild Buffalo, their joint occupant, who in search of pasture and saline springs, made regular tours across the country, which in time were the Indian trails and the white man's early roads.
These few words tell the history of Urbana and of Champaign County until the coming of the United States surveying corps, which during the summer of 1822, under the direction of the deputy surveyor general, Elias Rector, surveyed the thirty-six square miles which constitute the township of Urbana, and were probably the first of our race who saw and closely observed these scenes; unless we except some possible white squatter, who had ventured unauthorized, to set up his home hereon. This however was quite improbable, for not until the year 1819 was the Indian title to this country extinguished and white occupancy possible.
In the year 1822, probably contemporaneously with the survey, came the first white inhabitant of the township, Runnel Fielder, who set up his home in section twelve, about