Imágenes de páginas
PDF
EPUB

funds being made immediately available. As stated in my last annual report, work for the building was commenced in March, 1901, and completed in May, 1901, except such as could not be finished until the roof trusses were erected. During July and August, 1901, the iron roof trusses and the corrugated-iron roof covering were erected. All brickwork was completed in July. The interior finish was commenced in July and completed in September, and the steam boiler set and steam-heating pipes run and connected in November, 1901. The building is 100 feet long, 40 feet wide, and 26 feet high from basement floor to eaves. It contains one story and a basement. It provides shops for carpenters, painters, plumbers, tinners, and blacksmiths, and has an engine room, storerooms, and toilet room. As soon as completed, the respective shops were removed into it from the old buildings formerly occupied by them and those old buildings were then torn down, with the exception of one, which was cut down from two stories to one story and moved to another location for use as a storehouse. Two open sheds for storage were erected, using such of the materials from the old shops as could be utilized. Some old frame sheds of no further use were also torn down. In June, 1902, a cement pavement or dished apron on concrete base was constructed on the west front of the new shops building and adjacent thereto. This apron is 86 feet long and 6 feet wide, and serves not only as a walk, but also as a gutter to carry storm water away from the building.

POTOMAC PARK.

By authority of the Chief of Engineers United States Army, Lieut. Col. Charles J. Allen, Corps of Engineers, transferred to the charge of the office of public buildings and grounds, by letter dated August 12, 1901, the portion of Potomac Park between the tidal reservoir and the Washington Monument grounds and extending from Seventeenth street and Virginia avenue NW. to Maryland avenue and Fourteenth street SW. On October 30, 1901, this office submitted to the Department an estimate to be transmitted to Congress for an appropriation for improving the ground.

In sundry civil act approved June 28, 1902, Congress appropriated the sum of $70,000 for the work, and a project for the application of the funds will be submitted to the Chief of Engineers at once.

STATUES.

There are 22 statues in the national public grounds under charge of this office, as follows: Daguerre.

General Hancock (equestrian).
General Scott (equestrian).
Admiral Du Pont (standing).
Professor Henry (standing).
General Thomas (equestrian).
Admiral Farragut (standing).
President Jackson (equestrian).
President Washington (eques-
trian).

General Logan (equestrian).

Rochambeau (standing).
President Garfield (standing).
General Lafayette (standing).
Mr. Webster (standing).
General Greene (equestrian).
Dr. Gross (standing).
President Lincoln (2) (standing).
General McPherson (equestrian).
Dr. Hahnemann (sitting).
General Rawlins (standing).
Albert Pike (standing).

That of Rochambeau was completed during the year.

SHERMAN STATUE.

The sculptor and contractor for the Sherman statue, Mr. Carl RohlSmith, died August 20, 1900, while on a visit to his home in Denmark. By resolution of the statue commission, December 3, 1900, the widow was authorized to complete her husband's work, using therefor such expert assistance as might be found necessary. A new contract for this purpose was executed with Mrs. Rohl-Smith on April 8, 1901, which provides that the monument shall be completed within two years. The work is making good progress. The pedestal is complete; four figures for the pedestal are being cast at the foundry; work is progressing on the plaster cast of the equestrian statue and of the basreliefs and inscriptions; the designs have been made, some approved, and some are still under consideration and improvement.

In the deficiency appropriation act approved June 6, 1900, the sum of $8,000 was provided "for removal of present iron fence around the site of the Sherman statue and setting up of a substantial granite curb in place thereof." As stated in my last annual report, the old iron fence and stone coping were removed, and 713 feet of new granite coping and 9 corner granite posts set in position up to June 30, 1901. In August, 1901, the work of setting the coping was completed by placing 349 feet of coping and 3 corner posts in position.

STATUE OF GENERAL GRANT..

By act approved February 23, 1901, Congress appropriated $10,000 for designs for a statue or memorial to Gen. U. S. Grant. Under date of April 10, 1901, the commission in charge issued an invitation to sculptors to submit competitive designs and published the terms governing the competition.

In answer to this invitation 23 sculptors submitted 27 models during the month of March, 1902, which, by the courtesy of the trustees of the Corcoran Gallery of Art, were placed on exhibition in the basement of that building in April. From the models thus submitted two models were selected by the statutory commission for further competition, and the artists of those two were requested to submit larger models of the equestrian group of their designs, said enlarged models to be ready not later than October 1, 1902. By sundry civil act for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1903, approved June 28, 1902, the sum of $50,000 was provided to enable the commission to commence the erection of the memorial.

STATUE OF GENERAL M'CLELLAN.

By sundry civil act approved March 3, 1901, Congress appropriated $50,000 for the preparation of a site and the erection of a pedestal for and the completion of a statue of the late Maj. Gen. George B. McClellan.

Under date of May 3, 1901, the commission in charge issued an invitation to sculptors to submit competitive designs and published the terms governing the competition.

In answer to this invitation 19 sculptors submitted 21 models during the month of April, 1902, which were exhibited in the basement of th Corcoran Gallery of Art in May. From the models submitted four were selected by the commission for further competition, and the artists of those four were requested to submit an enlarged model of their design, to be ready not later than February 1, 1903.

[graphic][merged small]

PEDESTAL FOR STATUE OF ROCHAMBEAU.

In the deficiency act approved February 14, 1902, the sum of $15,000 was appropriated for the preparation of a site and the erection of a pedestal for the statue of Rochambeau, said site to be selected on any unoccupied public ground by, and the said pedestal erected under the supervision of, the Secretary of State, the Secretary of War, and the chairmen of the Committees on the Library of the Fifty-seventh Congress. The appropriation also provided for the expenses attending the unveiling of the statue, and that any part of the sum appropriated not needed for preparation of the site and erection of the pedestal and for the expenses attending the unveiling might be used for the completion of the statue and pedestal.

The commission selected the southwest corner of Lafayette Park as the site for the statue, and by order of April 7 I was directed to construct a suitable foundation, to cause the erection thereon of the pedestal, and to perform such other acts as might be necessary. Work was immediately (April 9) commenced, and by April 18 the foundation was completed. The stones for the pedestal began to arrive on April 24, and work was commenced the next day setting them. The erection of the pedestal and the statue was completed May 17. The erection of viewing stands (four in all), for use in connection with the unveiling, was commenced on May 10 and finished on May 23, and the statue unveiled on May 24. The work of taking down the stands was commenced on May 26 and finished May 31. A granite curb was set around the mound at the base of the pedestal, and work commenced restoring the ground, which, it is expected, will be completed in July.

SETTEES, TOOLS, MANURE, CONSTRUCTION AND REPAIR OF POST-AND-CHAIN FENCES, AND REMOVING SNOW AND ICE.

During the year 363 park settees were repaired and 989 painted. All settees in the parks were examined and those found loose were refastened to the ground with stakes and wire.

Repairs were made to lawn mowers, wheelbarrows, and miscellaneous tools, edge tools sharpened and kept in good order, and new tools purchased from time to time as required.

About 885 cubic yards of stable manure, 895 cubic yards of soil, 105 cubic yards of cow manure, and 236 cubic yards of potting sod were purchased; the greater part of the stable manure was mixed with the soil and made into compost and spread over park lawns and around young trees and shrubbery, and part of the stable manure used in enriching flower beds. About 1,090 cart loads of compost was spread over park lawns during the year. The cow manure and the potting sod were made into potting composts for plants.

At the compost and storage grounds a portion of the low ground was filled with clay, 35 linear feet of new fence, 5 feet high, constructed, some of the old fence and the gates at entrance repaired, and a roadway of coarse gravel constructed from the entrance to the soil and manure piles.

Repairs were made to iron fences; iron post-and-chain fences were erected around seven of the small triangular reservations and iron posts set around nine others. The chain will be placed in position around these latter early in the ensuing fiscal year.

« AnteriorContinuar »