The Shadow Within

Houghton Mifflin, 1973 - 476 páginas
0 Opiniones
Las opiniones no están verificadas, pero Google revisa que no haya contenido falso y lo quita si lo identifica
To think and write intelligently, one must become aware of the larger issues and problems that concern modern man. In order to provide a developing writer with a perspective that is broad, social, cultural, and historical, editors Cherry, Conley and Hirsch have compiled a wide variety of literary selections that include: essays (descriptive, narrative, argument and persuasion, exposition, definition, comparison and contrast, cause and effect, problem-solution, example and illustration, classification and division); short stories; and poems. Arranged thematically, selections explore the nature of man, his relationships to his natural and cultural environments, and his continuous search for a viable identity. Part one considers man's need to perceive himself as being of special significance in relation to the universe and the natural world. Part two deals with man's search for a viable identity through culture and civilization. Part three explores the role of modern technology in contemporary culture and the nature of the responsibilities it imposes on man. Part four examines mans use of his own creative and imaginative potential in his search for valid definitions of himself and of reality. Part five is concerned with man's need and capacity to achieve a new and viable harmony with a rapidly changing world--From publisher description.

Dentro del libro

Comentarios de la gente - Escribir un comentario

No encontramos ningún comentario en los lugares habituales.


Was the World Made for Man?
Field and Forest Randall Jarrell
Derechos de autor

Otras 43 secciones no mostradas

Términos y frases comunes

Acerca del autor (1973)

Robert J. Conley was born in 1940 in Cushing Oklahoma. He is a Cherokee author and enrolled member of the United Keetoowah Band of Cherokee Indians, a federally recognized tribe of American Indians. He is noted for depictions of precontact and historical Cherokee figures. He is known for a series of books called the Real People Series. The sixth of the series, The Dark Island (1996) won the Spur Award for best Western novel in 1995. He has also won two other Spur Awards, in 1988 for the short story "Yellow Bird", and in 1992 for the novel Nickajack. In 2007, he received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Native Writers' Circle of the Americas.

Información bibliográfica